IPL 2020 enters play-offs stage – Four teams will battle it out to reach the finals

IPL 2020 final: Mumbai Indians are five-times champions

Updated: 20th June 2024

Sunrisers Hyderabad's emphatic win over Mumbai Indians in the last match of the round-robin stage put them through for the play-off stage at the expense of Kolkata Knight Riders who were dislodged from the 4th spot after SRH's Tuesday night win.

Delhi Capitals secured a top-two finish on their way to the playoffs with a 6-wicket win over Royal Challengers Bangalore, who also qualified.

Where to Bet on IPL Cricket?

Best Cricket betting sites

Mumbai Indians were the first to qualify having finished on an unassailable 18 points and topping the IPL points table.

This leaves 4 teams in the play-offs stage – Table Toppers Mumbai Indians (MI), 2nd placed Delhi Chargers (DC), Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the 3rd spot and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at fourth.

The playoffs will kick off on November 5th, Thursday and its course explained below;

Qualifier 1: Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals (Nov 5)

While the winner of this tie goes straight through to the finals, the loser of the first Qualifier will get one more chance of making it to the final by facing the winner of Eliminator which will be contested between the RCB and SRH.

Eliminator 1: Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders (Nov 6)

3rd and 4th placed SRH & RCB will contest the eliminator. Whoever loses will exit the IPL 2020 race while the winner will get to play the loser of Qualifier 1

Qualifier 2: (Nov 8):

Loser of Qualifier and winner of Eliminator will clash in the Qualifier 2. Winner will go to the IPL finals and loser will exit the tournament.

IPL 2020 Final (Nov 10)

Winner of Qualifier 1 VS Winner of Qualifier 2 will contest the IPL 2020 finals.

The latest points table of IPL 2020

Indian Premier League sides P W L D NRR Pts
1 Mumbai Indians 13 9 4 0 +1.296 18
2 Delhi Capitals 14 8 6 0 -0.109 16
3 Sunrisers Hyderabad 14 7 7 0 +0.608 14
4 Royal Challengers Bangalore 14 7 7 0 -0.172 14
5 Kolkata Knight Riders 14 7 7 0 -0.214 14
6 KingsXI  Punjab 14 6 8 0 -0.162 12
7 Chennai Super Kings 14 6 8 0 -0.455 12
8 Rajasthan Royals 14 6 8 0 -0.569 12


Relevant news

Leave a Reply