IPL 2020 final: Mumbai Indians are five-times champions

IPL 2020 final: Mumbai Indians are five-times champions

Updated: 18th May 2024

Rohit Sharma leads Mumbai outfit to comfortable IPL 2020 final win; Trent Boult wrecks Delhi top order 

Delhi Capitals 156/7 (20.0 overs) lose to Mumbai Indians 157/5 (18.4) by 5 wickets in the IPL 2020 final.

Mumbai Indians (MI) beat Delhi Capitals (DC) at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium to secure their fifth Indian Premier League title in eight years and becoming the most successful team in the tournament's history.

[irp posts=”20198″ name=”Best Cricket betting Sites UK in 2020″]

Compared to last season's cliffhanger when MI beat Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in a one-run win, the final yesterday was a much predictable affair as the champions chased down 157 with relative ease.

Skipper Rohit Sharma, defying a nagging hamstring injury, scored a masterly 68 from 51 balls, laced with 5 boundaries and 4 sixes, as he saw his took his side to a winning postion when he left.

DC who had lost all their previous three outings to MI in this season's edition were quickly reduced to 22 for 3 after New Zealand fast bowler Trent Boult scalped the important wickets of Marcus Stonis and Ajinkya Rahane for 0 and 2 respectively.

After the side's top-scorer in the tournament, Shikar Dhawan was dismissed for just 15, a fighting partnership of 96 between Shreyas Iyer (65 not out) and Rushab Pant (56) took the DC score to 118 before the latter threw his wicket, holing up to Hardik Pandya off Nathan Coulter-Nile.

Shimron Hetmyer and Axar Patel went quickly after that as the DC innings meandered along to finish at a chaseable 156 for 7.

Skipper Shreyas Iyer remained defiant till the end with a swashbuckling 65 from 50 balls (six 4s and two 6s).

For MI, Boult finished with match-winning figures of 3 for 30 from his quota of 4 overs while Coulter-Nile ended up with 2 for 29 from his four.

The defending champions made the chase of 157 look easy as openers Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock plundered 45 from the first 4 overs.

With Rohit departing at the score of 137, MI needed a very gettable 23 from 20 balls.

Keiron Pollard and Hardik Pandya made heavy weather of things as they went cheaply for 9 and 3, but a belligerent 33 off only 19 balls from Ishan Kishan took MI to a win with 8 balls to spare.

Anrich Nortje was the pick of the DC bowlers with figures of 2 for 25.

Kagiso Rabada, IPL 2020's highest wicket taker with 30 scalps was ineffective as he went with 1 for 32 from 3 overs.

To conclude, the MI win will be a mere footnote as the night at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium belonged to the one and only “Hit-man” Rohit Sharma.

Mumbai Indians playing 11:

Quinton de Kock(w), Rohit Sharma(c), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jayant Yadav, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah.

Delhi Capitals playing 11:

Marcus Stoinis, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer(c), Shimron Hetmyer, Rishabh Pant(w), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Praveen Dubey, Anrich Nortje.

Relevant news

Leave a Reply