Rugby Union SA Squad Travelling to Argentina

Rugby Union SA Squad Travelling to Argentina 1

Updated: 16th June 2024

CAPE TOWN, Aug 19 (Reuters) – South Africa have cut their team by 6 and will take 28 players to Argentina, where the Springboks will deal with the Pumas in Mendoza in the Rugby Championship on Saturday.

Coach Rassie Erasmus sprung no surprises when he called the trip a celebration on Sunday, one day after South Africa beat Argentina 34-21 in their opening match of the yearly four-nations southern hemisphere competitors.

Forwards (16 )

Thomas du Toit (Prop, Sharks), Pieter-Steph du Toit (Lock/Loose forward, Stormers), Eben Etzebeth (Lock, Stormers), Steven Kitshoff (Prop, Stormers), Siya Kolisi (Captain – Loose forward, Stormers), Francois Louw (Loose forward, Bath, England), Wilco Louw (Prop, Stormers), Frans Malherbe (Prop, Stormers), Malcolm Marx (Hooker, Lions), Bongi Mbonambi (Hooker, Stormers), Franco Mostert (Lock, Gloucester, England), Tendai Mtawarira (Prop, Sharks), RG Snyman (Lock, Bulls/Honda Heat ), Akker van der Merwe (Hooker, Sharks), Marco van Staden (Loose forward, Bulls), Warren Whiteley (No 8, Lions).

Backs (12 )

Lukhanyo Am (Centre, Sharks), Faf de Klerk (Scrumhalf, Sale Sharks, England), Aphiwe Dyantyi (Wing, Lions), André Esterhuizen (Centre, Sharks/Sanix Blues, Japan), Elton Jantjies (Flyhalf, Lions), Willie le Roux (Fullback, Wasps, England), Makazole Mapimpi (Wing, Sharks), Lionel Mapoe (Centre, Lions), Embrose Papier (Scrumhalf, Bulls), Handré Pollard (Flyhalf, Bulls), Ivan van Zyl (Scrumhalf, Bulls), Damian Willemse (Flyhalf, Stormers).

Players not taking a trip: Jean-Luc du Preez (loose forward), Sikhumbuzo Notshe (loose forward) and Marvin Orie (lock), Ross Cronje (scrumhalf), Jesse Kriel (centre) and Lwazi Mvovo (wing)

sent by / u/Ringo26 [link] [remarks]”>Find out more:

Relevant news

1 thought on “Rugby Union SA Squad Travelling to Argentina”

Leave a Reply